Wrap Up: November 2017

Update: I’m putting this post up today between my 12 Days Of Blogmas announcement and the actual first post of blogmas because I almost forgot all about my wrap up for November and I didn’t want to wait until after blogmas to post it – that’d be way too late! So, here are all of the books I read in the month of November!

You guys, I honestly have no idea what is happening lately, but I seem to be having a second consecutive good reading month! It almost feels like some kind of switch got turned in October and now I’m basically just wanting to read all of the books out there – or reread favorites – even for a second time within just a few months. Yep. That’s something that happened this month and for the first time ever. Anyone want to take a guess as to which book I’m talking about?

divider

crooked kingdomTechnically,ย I didn’t even read Crooked Kingdom in November, but I finished it with just 30 minutes of October left and I didn’t feel like editing that month’s wrap up to include this book. I reread the duology in the past few weeks and I honestly have to say I have had so much time being back with these characters and in the world of Ketterdam! Amanda Foody also said her Ace of Shades is inspired by this duology so obviously, I was also preparing myself for the release of Ace by rereading Crooked Kingdom. It just sucks that April is still so far away… can time please hurry up just a little bit?

divider

language of thornsAnd since I was already deep in the world that Leigh created, I also picked up The Language Of Thorns on audiobook! I just needed to know what kind of short stories Leigh would have in here (I had read one of them back before I started the Grisha Trilogy) and I have to say, overall I was really happy with what I got! I think we all end up enjoying some stories more than others so I wasn’t too disappointed by not loving all the stories. I think if you are a fan of the Grishaverse, this is definitely something you should try and get your hands on!

dividerlove hate & other filters

I am still so excited that I was actually able to read this fantastic book early! I’ve had Love, Hate & Other Filters on my anticipated releases list for months now and so, of course, I had to request an ARC of this and hope for the best – which is exactly what happened! I feel like if you enjoyed the movie Bend It Like Beckham – this might be right up your alley.

Love, Hate & Other Filters obviously also deals with more difficult topics like racism but it also features a story that reminded me of the movie and the way it made me feel. I’ve seen this described as perfect for fans of The Hate U Give and When Dimple Met Rishi and Iย would 100% agree with it! So, if you’ve loved both of those books make sure you preorder this one too! It’ll be worth it, I promise!

divider

simon vsOne night, when I couldn’t quite fall asleep I decided to put on the audiobook for Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda to help myself fall asleep. Little did I know that I would actually stay up longer and longer because I just couldn’t stop listening to this audiobook. I did fall asleep at some point, obviously but once I woke up, I went right back and finished the book. And it’s not even that it was my first time experiencing it and that I had to know how the story ends – this was a reread. Just four months after reading it for the first time. You could say I really love this book.

divider

Once again, as I did last month, I tried to shorten this wrap up a little bit by posting a separate post with my more in-depth thoughts on a couple of books I read, so please click here to hear more about what I thought of the following books!

the night circusย magnus chase 2

strange the dreamer

divider

trials of apollo 1I seem to be in a bit of a Rick Riordan mood lately, seeing how Apollo is the third Riordan book I have read in just a couple of weeks. And, so far The Hidden Oracle is by far my least favorite book of the three I’ve read.

Apollo was such an unlikable character to me. All he cared about were his exes (he mentioned them every other chapter it felt like) and his status as a now-mortal with acne and no six pack. Honestly, how many times do I need to read about the fact that Apollo has acne? I got it after the first five times, thank you. Same for the abs. I get it. You used to be a good with a stellar body – good for you. But I don’t care about your non-existent abs. At this point, I really don’t see myself continuing with this series – especially since it’s going to be a rather long one and I’m just not that invested at this point.

divider

cinderYou guys. This year, for the first time, I am participating in a traveling book project and I signed up for Cress and since I can’t just jump into book three, I decided I would reread The Lunar Chronicles and I am having so much fun! I still enjoy the characters as much (especially Iko!) and I can’t wait to continue reading this series (I’m actually already more than halfway through the next book!) and be reunited with the awesomeness that is the dynamic between Thorne and Cress! Cinder also marked the eight book I finished this past month and I’m still pretty shocked that I’m continuing to read so many books per month but also how much I usually enjoy them!

lets chat 1

How about you guys? What are some of the books you’ve read this past month and did you enjoy any of them more than you thought? Or were you disappointed by some of them? I know I’ve had a bit of a mixed bag this month but overall, I really enjoyed what I read!

social media

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

15 thoughts on “Wrap Up: November 2017

  1. Wow, you are having AMAZING reading months lately, Swetlana, this is SO amazing! And yay for re-reading Simon vs., I love this book and the trailer made me want to re-read again. Here’s to hoping December will be just as great! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am happy to hear that you had such a good reading month! ๐ŸŽ‰
    I had lots of books that I loved this past month (especially Queens of Geek, The Book Thief & Passenger), but also a huge disappointment to balance it out ๐Ÿ˜ฎ But overall my reading month was pretty good ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’m really glad that you liked The Sword of Summer, in my opinion the Magnus Chae Series is Rick Riordans best Series ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I still need to get to Queens Of Geek and The Book Thief! I actually started the latter a couple of years ago and got about halfway through but never finished it for some reason – but I do want to. It’s such a beloved book I NEED to know what it’s all about! ๐Ÿ™‚

      I can’t wait to see what I think of the rest of Rick’s earlier books! Because while I’m a bit wary if I’ll like them or not – I still want to at least give them a chance, you know? And if it doesn’t work out, that’s okay too. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. omg Swetlana, 8 books?????? That is a fantastic number of books and I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed so many of them!!! I was originally going to buy The Language of Thorns because of the incredibly gorgeous cover and because I’m so in love with the Grishaverseโ€”but I don’t really like short story collections because I usually don’t end up liking every single one of them and it just feels like a waste of money! I totally didn’t think about listening to it on audiobook but I think that is exactly what I’m going to do! That way I’ll have still read the book without having spent too much money! XD

    And Love, Hate and Other Filters sounds SO GOOD. I watched Bend It like Beckham when I was really young so I don’t really remember what it’s about. All I know is that I loved the movie so I’m pretty sure that I’ll love the book too!

    AND I DON’T THINK I NEED TO TELL YOU HOW MUCH I LOVE SIMON VS OMG I LITERALLY NEVER SHUT UP ABOUT IT ANYMORE EVER SINCE I FINISHED IT AND OMG THE MOVIE IS COMING OUT SOON AND I WATCH THE TRAILER EVERY DAY AND I JUST CAN’T DEAL HKSFADSFUHSFG

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I NEVER get short story collections either! I also don’t really see myself ever rereading them. But it does pain me that my Leigh Bardugo collection isn’t complete because of it (and Wonder Woman… which I still need to get a physical copy of)!

      Bend It Like Beckham had similar themes of someone wanting to do something and their parents not agreeing to it (though it was more of a secret with the football in the movie) but Love, Hate & Other Filters definitely has that same feeling while still dealing with the topic of racism! And it was written so well that you could feel the tension built up with each chapter! I was at the edge of my seat!

      NO BUT THAT IS AWESOME, JACKIE! IT WAS A FANTASTIC BOOK AND WE SHOULD ALL BE YELLING ABOUT IT.

      Like

Leave a Reply to Books tales by me Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.